Popeye and Lola

My late dog Lola made friends everywhere she went. Most of them were of the human or canine variety. But when we moved to the island, she befriended Popeye, the resident harbor seal. They were immediately smitten with each other. Lola doing the play bow thing and Popeye splashing water in response. It became a dance. And if Popeye ignored Lola, she would bark at her until Popeye turned and splashed and hence starting the dance all over. I’m telling you, seals really are long lost dogs….

I was usually so engrossed in watching them play that I only got one good picture of the two. It was taken on the day they met with my cell phone. I wish I would have filmed their interactions, but alas, I only have my memories.

friend 2

Friend

One thought on “Popeye and Lola

Leave a Reply

