A to Z Challenge Letter R: Reiki

Reiki:

“A healing technique based on the principle that the therapist can channel universal life force energy into the patient by means of touch, to activate the natural healing processes of the patient’s body and restore physical and emotional well-being.”

I had first heard about Reiki back in 2000, while living with 5 other people in a 2 bedroom apartment. One of my roommates had just discovered the alternative practice and was happily telling everyone about it. At that time I still had lots of Swiss skepticism and while I loved his passion, I dismissed the idea as rather foolish. I firmly said no when he asked me if I wanted to try it.

Fast forward to 2007, I had become more open-minded and had been trying out more and more new things, yoga, acupuncture and mediation just the beginning. I had decided that I wanted to learn Equine and Canine massage and had signed up for an intensive 15 day course in Colorado. I had the option to add a Reiki Level 1 and 2 class at the end of the massage course and on a whim decided to do so.

The Reiki class was a lot of fun and I learnt a lot! I have always been a nervous and fidgety person, barely able to sit still for five minutes. I used to drive my Mom crazy with all my nervous energy. The first thing I noticed when I first received Reiki and later channeled it, it immediately released that nervous energy and I felt incredibly calm. I liked the feeling! The Reiki master holding the class encouraged us to find local Reiki circles and start practicing and channeling for other people.

Back in Los Angeles I went online and found a circle nearby that sounded like fun. It took me three months to work up the courage to go to one. I walked in, met the Reiki Master leading the course and she had me at “hello”. I kept going back! Eventually I re-took Level 1 and 2 with Marla, the L.A. Reiki Master. I even ended up going a step further and taking a Advanced Practitioner class.

One of her Master students eventually started another circle in the San Fernando Valley, even closer to me and I started going to his circle as well. When it was time to move out of L.A. and start afresh in beautiful Washington, I knew that I would miss the circles a lot. It was my way of releasing my anxiety and find a moment of peace and quiet in the hustle and bustle of the city.

Once I got to Washington, I found a circle here as well and in the beginning went regularly like clockwork. Then I realized that the beauty of nature and the quiet more laid-back lifestyle of the island actually automatically made me calmer, and I didn’t need the outlet of the circle as much. I stopped going and started soaking up nature instead.

In the meantime I am a Reiki Master myself after having completed a year long program. I did have to travel to L.A. periodically for intensive weekend workshops. After getting that last and most intense atunement I needed an extended “Reiki break”. It’s only been the last few months that I finally started getting back into the practice and once again falling in love with its peace and calm. I realized how much I missed it.

Maybe I will start a circle of my own…meeting in the woods.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2017/04/atozchallenge-4-21-2017-letter-r.html

One thought on “A to Z Challenge Letter R: Reiki

  1. We have a couple things in common, I lived in southern California for the first 10 years of my life, now I live in Washington. I was born near the LA area, in Simi Valley. I enjoyed your article.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

